h1

St. Patrick’s Day Rhythm Identification

March 14, 2014

I mentioned before that I am not a big “holidays in the Music room” sort of person. I want the activities to add to my curriculum, not take time away from it. I found a cute way to sneak in a little St. Patty’s Day fun while staying on topic and not taking any extra time to introduce the holiday.

My Kindergarteners have recently learned ta (quarter note) and ta-ti (eighth notes.) They have been reading flash cards, writing/drawing the rhythms on dry erase boards*, and doing simple dictation with craft sticks.  They were ready to identify the pattern they heard performed from a selection of choices.

After perusing Pintrest and mulling over ideas, I had a brainstorm. Why not leprechaun gold? 

Leprechaun

For this activity, I performed one of the six patterns and asked the students to find it on the page. They were instructed as to which color crayon to use for each turn. This made it VERY easy to look around the circle and see who was correctly identifying the rhythms.

20140314_094242

For the first three turns I clapped and spoke the pattern using rhythm syllables. To amp up the rigor, the last three patterns were only clapped. Most of the kids found the patterns very quickly. When there were only two patterns left, I asked the students to articulate how they were different. (ie. “One pattern starts with ta and the other one starts with ta-ti.”)  Since I do not give report card grades to Kinder, I sent the completed worksheets home with instructions to read all of the rhythms to their families. (Five-year-olds think getting Music homework is the coolest thing EVER.) If I were to do this worksheet with the older classes, to whom I do give grades, I would likely do the same. I would simply look around the circle to quickly mark down the names of those who did not accurately identify all of the patterns, and how many were correct. I would only have had one or two children whom I would have needed to make a note about. 

Interested in this worksheet and versions including other rhythms?  Check them out on my TpT page. It’s a freebie!

Tell me what you think

Kodaly Corner

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

KONY (Kodály Organization of New York)

KONY provides a forum for music teachers who wish to teach according to the Kodály concept.

Notable Music Studio

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Ms. Mangusso's Music class - Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Made for Music Teachers

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

MelodySoup blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

In My Music Class

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Elementary Music Teacher Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

meyersmusic: Ideas for the Music Classroom

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Mr. McGorry's Musical World

An online resource for my music students and music education colleagues.

shellyleymusic

Teaching and singing in the Hudson Valley

Beth's Music Notes

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Teaching Music: Tanya's Kodály Aspiring Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Kodaly and Orff Music Teacher's blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

CREATIVE MUSIC CLASSROOMS with THOM BORDEN

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Mrs. Miracle's Music Room

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Music Room Magic

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

