h1

Popcorn Song

February 1, 2014

My PreK students start school at three years old.  This year we even had a few who were not yet three. Very young! The past year and a half has been a learning adventure, to say the least. Kindergarten had been the youngest age in my previous schools.  I love it, but man, they kick my butt!

One song that was a hit from day one, was the Popcorn Song. It was so popular that the kids are still digging it a year later in Junior Kindergarten. I cannot take credit for writing this song. I found it in the goldmine that is YouTube.  Bianca Merkley is the creative genius behind it. Seriously, my kids would sing and jump around to the song all period if I let them.

To keep it from getting too boring for me (because how many times can you sing the same song before going crazy?) I have added in some popcorn related activities.

1) We created shakers they we filled with popcorn kernels. These were much fun to shake as we sang the song.

2) We read the book The Popcorn Dragon by Jane Thayer. It is a great story that teaches kids it is better to share than be selfish and boastful. Also…super cute dragon pictures!  I have a dragon puppet that I plan to use this year with the kids, as well.

9780688083403

3) We have an imaginary popcorn party! I have a student with a corn allergy so actual popcorn was not a viable option. Instead, we “popped” some cotton balls on the parachute. What little kid doesn’t love the parachute??!?!

photo 1 photo 2

I love when you can find a song that provides such a wonderful launching pad for extension activities and aesthetic musical experiences. When you find a song like that it is definitely worth sharing!

2 comments

  1. LOVE this! What a cute song! I just read something today that this song would pair perfectly with: “(Student’s name), pop up!” on sol-mi-sol-mi (quarter, quarter, paired eighths, rest). Found it in Edwin Gordon’s Jump Right In Grade 1 book. Think I will have to add this song to that activity! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!


    • Ooh! What a cute idea! I may need to steal that 😉



Tell me what you think

Kodaly Corner

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

KONY (Kodály Organization of New York)

KONY provides a forum for music teachers who wish to teach according to the Kodály concept.

Notable Music Studio

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Ms. Mangusso's Music class - Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Made for Music Teachers

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

MelodySoup blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

In My Music Class

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Elementary Music Teacher Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

meyersmusic: Ideas for the Music Classroom

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Mr. McGorry's Musical World

An online resource for my music students and music education colleagues.

shellyleymusic

Teaching and singing in the Hudson Valley

Beth's Music Notes

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Teaching Music: Tanya's Kodály Aspiring Blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Kodaly and Orff Music Teacher's blog

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

CREATIVE MUSIC CLASSROOMS with THOM BORDEN

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Mrs. Miracle's Music Room

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

Music Room Magic

Making magic happen in the general music classroom

